Weather Forecast


Althoff elected mayor in Cannon Falls; 5 elected to City Council

Cannon Falls has elected John Althoff as mayor and Mary Jill Bringgold, Bill Duncan, Steve Gesme and Matt Montgomery in two City Council elections. They are joined by Derek Lundell, who ran unopposed for in a special election for City Council.

Althoff defeated opponent Lisa Wilcox-Erhardt 1,311 votes to 568 with both precinct reporting and 17 write-in votes.

Bringgold received 809 votes (25.65 percent) and Duncan 654 (20.74 percent) in one city council election while in the other, Gesme led with 1,218 votes (40.48 percent) and Montgomery 861 (28.61 percent).

Running against Bringgold and Duncan were Cathy Gallups (436 votes), Brian Stegenga (276), Merlyce "Merle" Johnson (431) and Kenneth Carpenter (531), with 17 write-ins. Mary Snelling (500 votes) and Steve Carlsen (411) ran against Gesme and Montgomery with 19 write-ins. Lundell received 1,590 votes against 21 write-ins.

The vote counts are unofficial until certified by the county canvassing board. Totals are from the Minnesota Secretary of State website.