Weather Forecast


Humphreys wins humanitarian prize

1 / 2
Kay Humphreys, 2017 Amos Owen Award recipient. Sarah Hansen / RiverTown Multimedia2 / 2

Kay Humphreys' lifelong commitment to women and girls has been recognized by the city of Red Wing; she received the 2017 Amos Owen Award for promoting and ensuring others' human rights.

As a direct result of Humphreys' efforts, Red Wing adopted the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women in February 2017, nominators said. CEDAW serves as an international bill of rights for women. It was first adopted by the UN General Assembly in 1979. When it passed locally this year, Red Wing became the fourth city in Minnesota to adopt this resolution.

Mayor Sean Dowse issued the award to Humphreys as a lead off to the regular City Council meeting Monday, Nov. 13.

During the ceremony, her record of activism working with the American Association of University Women Red Wing Area branch was praised by Marilyn Olson, chair of the Human Rights Commission.

"She does not just believe in justice and equality for others, she's working for it to happen," Olson said.

The Amos Owen Award has been given annually since 2001. Its namesake is the late Prairie Island Mdewakanton elder and spiritual leader who worked tirelessly to preserve Dakota language and culture.

Past recipients include Dean Preheim Bartell, Dan Guida, Paul Dressen, Dr. David Harris, Noah White Jr., Denise Drews Fosado, Regina Nicolosi, Winfred Red Cloud, John Nordgaard, Donna Dummer, Heather Marx, Audra Quandt, Marilyn Olson, Lois Burnes, Carol Duff, Arthur and Raymond Owen, James Chalmers and Lucy Richardson.