Weather Forecast


Update: Red Wing shooting suspect arrested in Woodbury hotel; victim identified

Local teachers receive outstanding educator awards

ROCHESTER — Kristen Seeger of Albert Lea Schools and Shannon Johnson of Zumbrota-Mazeppa Schools have been named Outstanding Educators from the Rochester Area Math Science Partnership. This award recognizes educators who demonstrate excellence in teaching, outstanding leadership, and focus on continuous improvement which serves to move students toward high achievement in world-class standards in math, science and technology.

A total of 10 educators from southeast Minnesota were nominated for the 2017 Rochester Area Math Science Partnership Outstanding Educator Award.

The following eight were nominated for their accomplishments and pursuit of growth in STEM education in the community: Bruce Fruitger of Rochester Public Schools, Dr. Cynthia Hanson of Pine Island Schools, Mark Nechanicky of Albert Lea Schools, Matt Cada of Plainview-Elgin-Millville, Natalie Schneider of Kasson-Mantorville, Pam Bagniewski of Rochester Catholic Schools, Steve Moericke of Dover-Eyota Schools and Valerie Kafka of Rochester Public Schools.