Weather Forecast


Burnside principal submits resignation letter: School Board briefs

Burnside Elementary School Principal Sheila Beckner, pictured in 2015, has submitted a letter of resignation, effective at the end of this school year. File photo

Superintendent Karsten Anderson reported at Monday's School Board meeting that longtime Burnside Principal Sheila Beckner submitted a letter of resignation, effective at the end of this school year. Sunnyside Elementary Principal Jeremy Sorenson submitted a letter of resignation earlier this year.

"These are two fabulous administrators that will be missed greatly," Anderson said.

The district has posted for elementary principal applicants on the Minnesota Association of School Administrators website. The deadline for candidates was extended to May 5 to ensure potential candidates would be able to see the posting, the superintendent said.

After that date, candidates will be screened and at least two rounds of interviews will be conducted. Anderson said staff and community members will be involved with the selection process.

Operating levy planning

Board members continued to discuss a ballot timeline for the district's expiring operating levy, with the absence of members Heidi Jones and Mike Christensen. Following a six-hour strategic planning workshop last month, board members debated the reality of a November 2017 ballot and/or a November 2018 ballot.

The current operating levy of $1,235.64 per pupil unit expires at the end of the 2018-19 school year. Planning for the operating levy is scheduled to continue at the next regular meeting.

In other news ...

• The board approved a trip to Orlando, Fla. June 20-24, 2017, for the Health Occupations Students of America National Leadership Conference.

• A summary of the summer programming is available on the district's website. Due to summer construction, programs will be held at Colvill, Sunnyside and Jefferson buildings.

• The board held a review of the superintendent in a closed session.

• Meeting watch: Monday's meeting lasted approximately one hour before concluding with a closed session. Board members Heidi Jones and Mike Christensen were not present. The next meeting is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. Monday, May 15, at City Hall.

— compiled by Samantha Bengs, staff writer