Weather Forecast


No. 3 Panthers handle Cardinals 60-11

River Christensen tries to grab the leg of Gabe Frandsen in this 170-pound match.3 / 6
Sam Hoopingarner has the advantage over Hunter Piepenburg in the 106-pound match.4 / 6
Brad Cain puts the chin drop on Paul Hansen at 132 pounds.5 / 6
Alex Stuhl wraps around the waist of Riley Melstsom at 126.6 / 6

The No. 3 ranked Ellsworth High School wrestling team picked up five forfeit wins plus six more in its dual meet with Prescott Thursday for a 60-11 Highway 10 rivalry win in Ellsworth.

The Panthers took forfeits at 113, 120, 152, 195 and 220 pounds as injuries kept several wrestlers out of the PHS line-up. But the Cardinals started the dual meet with a pair of match wins as Sam Hoopingarner decisioned Ellsworth's Hunter Piepenburg 12-5 at 106 and Alex Stuhl shutout Riley Melstrom 6-0 at 126.

Prescott also got a pin in the meet as Troy Urman stuck Alec Yarwood in 1:16. at 145.

But the Purple still won more than their share of wrestled matches starting with Brad Cain's 1-0 win over Paul Hansen at 132. Cain rode Hansen out the entire third period to hold on for the narrow win. EHS also two come-from-behind wins as Tristan Mueller came back to pin Prescott's Nick Opdahl in 2:51 and Max Peterson pinned Tyler Miller at 160, also in the second period, in 3:42.

Also winning for Ellsworth were Gabe Frandsen in 2:28 over the Redbirds' River Christenson at 170; Hank Holdorf by an 11-6 decision over Lee Boles at 182 and Brodey Kemmerer at heavyweight with a :19 pinfall of Prescott's Rocky Blomker.

Ellsworth improves to 6-1 overall and 4-0 in the Middle Border Conference while Prescott drops to 2-4 in both. The Panthers wrestle tonight at Osceola.

No. 3 Ellsworth 60, Prescott 11

106 - Sam Hoopingardner (Prescott) won by decision over Hunter Piepenburg 12-5.

113 - John Albarado (Ellsworth) won by forfeit

120 - Jens Lantz (Ellsworth) won by forfeit

126 - Alex Stuhl (Prescott) won by decision over Riley Melstrom 6-0.

132 - Brad Cain (Ellsworth) won by decision over Paul Hansen 1-0.

138 - Tristen Mueller (Ellsworth) won by pin over Nick Opdahl in 2:51.

145 - Troy Urman (Prescott) won by pin over Alec Yarwood in 1:16.

152 - Josh Hines (Ellsworth) won by forfeit

160 - Max Peterson (Ellsworth) won by pin over Tyler Miller in 3:42

170 - Gable Frandson (Ellsworth) won by pin over River Christensen in 2:28

182 - Henry Holdorf (Ellsworth) won by decision over Lee Boles 11-6.

195 - Jacob Murphy (Ellsworth) won by forfeit

220 - Brady Zimmer (Ellsworth) won by forfeit

285 - Brody Kemmerer (Ellsworth) won by pin over Rocky Blomker in :19

Prescott was deducted one team point for unsportsmanlike conduct.