Weather Forecast


Six seek to be mayor in fall election

With several last-minute filings, candidates for Red Wing city offices set the stage for a busy local primary election.

Voters will cast their ballots in three primary races Aug. 9 to narrow each seat down to two candidates:

Mayor — The six candidates are Akheem Brown, Joseph W. Blank, Dawn Courtier, Sean M. Dowse, Kevin Serres and David Harris. Incumbent Dan Bender is not seeking re-election.

Ward 3 — City Council candidates for the combined seat for Wards 3 and 4 are Evan T. Brown, Glen F. Witham and Ernest W. Stone.

Ward 2: Roseanne Grosso, John P. Becker, Adam Matthew Gettings and Gregory D. Boek are vying to replace Lisa Bayley, who faces Barb Haley for the Minnesota House District 21A seat.

There will not be a primary election for Ward 1, which has two candidates. Kim Beise, who was appointed to complete Jason Sebion’s term in a special election this spring, is joined on the general election ballot by Thomas Day.

Goodhue County races

Todd Angelstad filed his candidacy Tuesday for the District 3 seat on Goodhue County Board, meaning a contested election this fall to replace outgoing Commissioner Dan Rechtzigel.

Angelstad will face Byron “Barney” Nesseth, who ran four years ago against Rechtzigel in the Nov. 8 election.

District 3 covers the townships of Warsaw, Holden, Wanamingo, Kenyon, Cherry Grove, Roscoe and Pine Island, as well as the cities of Dennison, Wanamingo, Kenyon and Pine Island.

Paul Drotos and incumbent Ted Seifert filed previously for the District 5 seat.

Incumbent Ron Allen is the sole candidate for District 1.

Other local races include incumbent Steve Drazkowski and Elise Diesslin vying for the Minnesota House District 21B seat, and incumbent Matt Schmit facing Mike Goggin for the Minnesota Senate District 21 seat.