Weather Forecast


Pierce County voters will help choose challengers

Area Wisconsin residents will be asked to vote in August primaries for a U.S. congressional seat and a seat in the Wisconsin Senate.

In the Third Congressional District, which includes Pierce County, there will be a three-way primary to choose the Republican candidate to oppose the Democratic incumbent, Ron Kind of La Crosse. Republican candidates are Tony Kurtz of Prairie du Chien, Karen L. Mueller of Chippewa Falls, and Ken Van Doren of Mauston.

In the state Senate District 31, which includes Pierce County, Republican voters will be asked to choose between Mel Pittman of Plum City and Bill Ingram of Durand to challenge Democratic incumbent Kathleen Vinehout.

The primaries will be Tuesday Aug. 12. The General Election will be Tuesday Nov. 4.

According to the Wisconsin Government Accountability Board’s website, these are the candidates for state offices:


Republican Party

Scott Walker (i)

Democratic Party

Mary Burke

Brett Hulsey

Libertarian Party

Robert Burke

People’s Party

Dennis Fehr

Lieutenant governor

Republican Party

Rebecca Kleefisch (i)

Democratic Party

John Lehman

Mary Jo Walters

Libertarian Party

Joseph Brost

Attorney general

Democratic Party

Susan V. Happ

Ismael Ozanne

Jon Richards

Republican Party

Brad Schimel

Libertarian Party

Thomas A. Nelson Sr.

Secretary of state

Democratic Party

Doug La Follette (i)

Republican Party

Garey Bies

Julian Bradley

Constitution Party

Jerry Broitzman

Libertarian Party

Andy Craig

State treasurer

Democratic Party

Dave Leeper

David L. Sartori

Constitution Party

Andrew Zuelke

Libertarian Party

Jerry Shidell

Green Party

Ron Hardy

Republican Party

Matt Adamczyk

Randall Melchert

Judy Wiff

Judy Wiff has been regional editor for RiverTown’s Wisconsin newspapers since 1996. She holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism and sociology from UW-River Falls. She has worked as a reporter for several weekly newspapers in Wisconsin.

(715) 426-1049