Weather Forecast


County narrows field

The only incumbent in Tuesday’s Goodhue County Board primary races will advance to the general election this fall, along with three candidates looking to shake up the board’s longstanding membership.

It was a close victory for current District 4 Commissioner Jim Bryant, coming away with 439 votes, or roughly 37.6 percent, from residents in the county’s eastern communities, including the cities of Goodhue, Zumbrota and the northern part of Lake City.

“It means a lot because people still believe in what I’m doing and what we do going forward for the county,” Bryant said about the win, adding that he appreciates the support from voters.

He will face off against Jason Majerus, who secured a place on the November ballot with 429 votes.

“I guess it means I just have a lot more work ahead of me for the next few months,” Majerus said Tuesday after the results came in.

Majerus is the owner and manager of Majerus Garage. This is his first time running for elected office.

Florence Township had the greatest turnout in District 4 with 217 votes cast in the commissioner race. Majerus received the largest share with 103 votes, compared to 54 votes for Bryant.

The primary eliminated District 4 candidates Keith Fossen, 214 votes, and Andru Peters, 85 votes.    

District 2

Voters in the city of Cannon Falls and central townships were fairly divided when choosing among five District 2 County Board candidates, with Brad Anderson emerging as the only frontrunner.

Anderson took the largest share with 421 votes, followed in a distant second by Nora Bryson Felton with 269 votes. 

Anderson, a longtime Leon Township clerk and Goodhue County Board of Adjustment member, said his focus is on business and infrastructure development, especially along Highway 52.

Anderson said he was happy with the results, but added “There’s still work to be done.”

“We’ll be visiting with residents, getting their concerns and working through them,” he said about plans leading up to November.

Bryson Felton, could not be reached for comment Tuesday, but told the RE previously that her platform is centered around listening to constituents, particularly on issues such as wind and solar energy, silica sand mining and Zip Rail.

Sandy Wollschlager of Cannon Falls narrowly missed a spot in the general election with 202 votes. Sarah Pettit of Zumbrota and Edward McNamara of Goodhue trailed with 109 and 57 votes respectively.

Outgoing Commissioner Richard Samuelson has held the District 2 seat for two decades. He announced earlier this year he would not be seeking re-election.

The board has five commissioners who serve 4-year terms. The seats held by Commissioners Ron Allen, Dan Rechtzigel and Ted Seifert will be up for election in 2016. 

Michael Brun

Michael Brun joined RiverTown Multimedia at the Red Wing Republican Eagle in March 2013, covering county government, health and local events.  He is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-River Falls journalism program.

(651) 301-7875