Weather Forecast


Speed limit increasing on section of Highway 60 from Kenyon to Zumbro Falls

Motorists using Highway 60 from Kenyon to Zumbro Falls will see the speed limit raised to 60 mph where the previous posted limit was 55 mph on the two-lane roadway, according to the Minnesota Department of Transportation.

The speed limit changes come after MnDOT's study of each highway segment, which includes: access points, shoulder width, roadway alignment, assessment of roadside hazards, crash rates and history, and an analysis of motorist speeds. The remainder of Highway 60 from Zumbro Falls to Wabasha will not be increased to 60 mph.

"A properly selected speed limit can increase the safety of the roadway by reducing the variation in actual vehicle operating speeds, and by setting realistic driver expectations for motorists trying to cross or enter a roadway," said Michael Schweyen, transportation engineer for MnDOT District 6.

The speed limits become official once the new signs are in place. MnDOT changed Highway 13 from Albert Lea to Waseca and Highway 60 from Waterville to Kenyon last year.

Additional highways in southeastern Minnesota are expected to raise the speed limit to 60 mph, including Highways 30 and 56, with more highways to be evaluated.

Not all highway segments will be raised to 60 mph. Only segments where the criteria are met will be raised to 60 mph, officials said.

In 2014, the Minnesota Legislature directed MnDOT to evaluate its two-lane, two-way 55 mph highways to determine whether speed limits could be reasonably and safely increased. The statewide study will end in 2019.

Motorists might see MnDOT sign crews posting the signs along the highways now or later this season as other roadways become approved for the new 60 mph speed limit. MnDOT urges motorists to always be attentive, drive with caution, slow down in work zones and never enter a road blocked with barriers or cones.

For real-time traffic information in Minnesota, call 511, visit or get the free smartphone app at Google Play or the App Store.