Weather Forecast


Council accepts mayor's resignation

Red Wing City Council voted 4-1 to accept the resignation letter of Mayor Dennis Egan Monday night.

Egan made no comment as the motion was brought up for discussion.

"I'm actually disappointed this is here," Council Vice President Ralph Rauterkus said. "This is a discussion of conflict of interest in my mind, and there is no conflict at this point."

"We all have conflicts and we know we will have conflicts in the future," Rauterkus added. "There are ways to recuse ourselves and move past that."

Council President Pro Tem Michael Schultz said he understood Rauterkus' point, but also understands Egan's decision. "So I will reluctantly offer Resolution 6536 accepting the mayor's resignation at this time," he said.

Following a few moments of silence, Council member Peggy Rehder seconded the motion.

Schultz, Rehder, Jason Sebion and Marilyn Meinke voted to approve the motion. Rauterkus was the only no vote.

Following the vote, City Clerk Kathy Johnson provided an update on the timeline for the special mayoral election to replace Egan.

The filing period for applicants will begin April 2 and go until 5 p.m. April 16. The day of the special election is scheduled for Tuesday June 11.

City Council will vote to approve a motion formally declaring a vacancy for mayor at the April 8 meeting.

Michael Brun

Michael Brun joined RiverTown Multimedia at the Red Wing Republican Eagle in March 2013, covering county government, health and local events.  He is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-River Falls journalism program.

(651) 301-7875