Weather Forecast

Jim Johnson has served as president of Minnesota State College-Southeast Technical since 1995 and has been with the college since 1981. Johnson will retire at the end of June.

Honoring the end of an era

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
news Red Wing, 55066
Republican Eagle
651-388-3404 customer support
Red Wing Minnesota 2760 North Service Drive / P.O. Box 15 55066

The College President of the Year honor is given to one college president every year by the Minnesota State College Student Association.


This year the award was given to Jim Johnson, retiring Minnesota State College–Southeast Technical president, at the MSCSA annual awards dinner in Breezy Point, Minn., Saturday night.

“(Johnson) has made the student his main priority year after year,” said Jenna Lubinski, former Southeast Technical Winona Student Senate president, in her nomination letter. “He continues to set and meet his goals with every individual student in mind … his open door policy, approachability, and open mindedness have always made the students on these campuses feel like they are a priority and that they have a leader who genuinely cares about their wellbeing and success.”

Johnson was selected for the award by the MSCSA statewide student leadership to receive the honor.

Since 1981, Johnson has been on staff at Southeast Technical and has served in roles from Trade and Industry coordinator, adult extension director, associate director and vice president and CEO over the last 33 years.

Johnson took over as college president in 1995 and announced his retirement – effective June 30 – last fall and will be succeeded by Dorothy Duran in July.

John Russett
(651) 301-7874